Thursday, July 5th

The day had come. We were supposed to leave Uganda the night of Thursday, July 5th. My day started with eating spaghetti with my coffee for breakfast. Then a couple of the girls and I went to the mall for some last-minute shopping/souvenirs. The hotel provided transportation to and from the mall. Their transportation was a Mercedes van… this was the first time I have ever rode in a Mercedes in my life. I felt fancy. Anyway, we had a very nice time in Entebbe looking at all the craft shops and we had drinks and lunch in the city. We went back to the hotel later that afternoon and I took advantage of the hotel being a spa, as well. I had a foot scrub, manicure and pedicure for $13! These services were amazing! The quality was comparable, if not better, than the same service I receive at a nail shop in the United States but pay almost four times as much for. After my mani/pedi was done, I finished packing and then it was time for dinner. We had a very relaxing day but after dinner, the schedule got tight again. We had to load up the vans that were taking us to the airport. When we arrived at the airport, we had to drop all our bags in a row outside the door and a police man and his dog came around to inspect all the luggage. This was intimidating, but I am glad that we all passed! After check-in, we started our twenty-six-hour journey back home. There was a lot of downtime in airports and on planes, but it was so worth it to finally be back home! I missed my people.

Leave a comment